Greensboro Symphony: Weber, Beethoven & Rachmaninoff


The Greensboro Symphony and its distinguished music director welcome a solo clarinetist for a showpiece by Weber, as well as a chamber music trio for an innovative concerto by Beethoven in a concert from their 2014 season. They wrap up the program with Rachmaninoff’s most popular symphony. Then we’re off in the “way back” machine to the North Carolina Triad in 1996 for an encore performance to mark the passing of the poet Maya Angelou. She appears in the role of narrator for the World Premiere of Since Dawn (A Tone Poem for Narrator, Chorus and Orchestra based on Maya Angelou's "On the Pulse of Morning") by the renowned Winston-Salem-based composer Dan Locklair.




Listen in pop-up player Listen to selections in a pop-up player

Listen to the entire program

Billboard and introduction to Weber's Fantasia and Rondo for Clarinet - Lauren Rico 

WEBER: Fantasia and Rondo for Clarinet

Greensboro Symphony Orchestra

Kelly Burke, clarinet

Dmitry Sitkovetsky, conductor

Introduction to Beethoven's Concerto for Violin, Cello, Piano and Orchestra - Lauren Rico

BEETHOVEN: Concerto for Violin, Cello, Piano and Orchestra

Greensboro Symphony Orchestra

Hermitage Piano Trio

Dmitry Sitkovetsky, conductor

Break and introduction to Rachmaninoff's Symphony No. 2 - Lauren Rico and Mike McKay

RACHMANINOFF: Symphony No. 2

Greensboro Symphony Orchestra

Dmitry Sitkovetsky, conductor

End of the show - Lauren Rico and Mike McKay

back to top