Osvaldo Golijov, Rachmaninoff, & Mozart

This program features a compelling piece by Argentinean composer Osvaldo Golijov [GOH-lee-hoff]: an Aria, transcribed for violin and piano, from Golijov’s opera Aina del Mar, (eye-EE-nah del MAHR) or “Fountain of Tears,” based on the life of the playwright Federico Garcia Lorca. You’ll also hear the poignant Vocalise by Rachmaninoff, in an arrangement for cello and piano, and Mozart’s beloved Clarinet Quintet, featuring Spoleto’s in-house clarinet virtuoso Todd Palmer.

Listen to the entire episode:

OSVALDO GOLIJOV: “From my Window,” from Aina del Mar (“Fountain of Tears”)
Livia Sohn, violin
Stephen Prutsman, piano

Alisa Weilerstein
, cello
Charles Wadsworth, piano

MOZART: Quintet for Clarinet & Strings in A, K. 581
Todd Palmer
, clarinet
St. Lawrence String Quartet:
Geoff Nuttall, violin
Scott St. John, violin
Lesley Robertson, viola
Christopher Costanza, cello